Budget Quads

The result of our kite making adventures
BillLamm

Budget Quads

Postby BillLamm » Mon, Aug 10 2009, 09:46 PM

my first budget quad flew today... (actually had a speed trial last week and added a little reinforcing to the leading edge)

this sail is from the JuneBug plans but I sized it to fit the same size spars as a rev

the other sail I have is from the Freedom 2000 plans.. again scaled to fit the rev spars... my goal is to get white rev sails and the paint them with artistic imagery... I like the kites at the rev kite and respect the style... and I hope to complement it by going in a new direction...

Darkspark

Re: Budget Quads

Postby Darkspark » Tue, Aug 11 2009, 12:15 PM

I dig the Kite, and it would make a great canvas for painting. How well does it fly?

BillLamm

Postby BillLamm » Tue, Aug 11 2009, 06:26 PM

Darkspark wrote:I dig the Kite, and it would make a great canvas for painting. How well does it fly?

I am still very new to quads so I am not a great judge of flyability... that said I think this sail is slower and a little top heavier thn the quads I have flown...

my early flight was in good wind and it flew ok... I am still in the get it up, keep it up and try to hold it steady stage of learning....

I strengthened the leading edge, that added some weight but I think the real problem on the second day was the wind was closer to SUL range than SLE so it is hard to say...

if I try this sail pattern again I think I will cut it so the verticals don't come over the bowed horizontal as much as this one

kiteguy

Postby kiteguy » Mon, Aug 31 2009, 07:57 PM

BillLamm wrote:my first budget quad flew today... (actually had a speed trial last week and added a little reinforcing to the leading edge)

this sail is from the JuneBug plans but I sized it to fit the same size spars as a rev