Hello From Valparaiso, IN

Tell us a little about yourself and let us welcome you to the forum.
Layback Lenny

Hello From Valparaiso, IN

Postby Layback Lenny » Tue, Aug 31 2010, 10:23 AM

Hi, everyone. I am new to kiting and only own a cheap stunt kite my girlfriend bought me from Harbor Freight. We went to the beach in Michigan City (Washington Park) a couple of weeks ago to fly it and met a guy there flying a Rev. He asked me if I wanted to give it a try. Bam! I was hooked. Turns out Joel sells kites at Shipshewana flea market. Great guy and his friend from Virginia, Robert, also. The next weekend we ran into them again and they had brought about 10 kites with them. Joel gave me some lessons and I got to fly a really nice stunt kite.
This weekend we are going to see Joel and purchase a new kite (or 2 or 3). We also have plans to spend the weekend in Milwaukee for the Mott festival. We still need to make our hotel reservations so any recommendations would be welcome.
Here's hoping for good winds.
Lenny

Mike

Re: Hello From Valparaiso, IN

Postby Mike » Tue, Aug 31 2010, 10:38 AM

Lenny,
welcome to the club and glad you found the Rev!

I wont be at Mott's but iQuad will be there and they are a great quad team to watch. I'm sure a few members of our club will be there too.
It's the same weekend as another festival in Illinois and some of us will be in DeKalb.

Even better, would be to meet up with us at a club fly. We often fly in the Kankakee, IL area. It's about 1 1/2 hours from you and for many of the club members. You'll be able to get plenty of hands-on tips and support for your new addiction.

Be sure to ask any questions here on the forum too. What kites are you thinking of getting?

Darkspark

Postby Darkspark » Tue, Aug 31 2010, 10:20 PM